Tourism body inaugurates board

Following wide and prolonged consultations amongst ATPN members and stakeholders, a new Association of Tourism Practitioners Of Nigeria (ATPN) Board of Trustee had been. The inauguration took place last week Friday via virtual conference.

Members of the board are Alhaji Kabir Malan, John Best, Ganiyu Tarzan Balogun, Chief Andy Ehanire,  Frank Meke and Abdulmumin Mapindi.

The visibly elated Board Chairman, Malan reminded members that ATPN remains the precursors of an omnibus Tourism Association in Nigeria, with  in-depth institutional memory and expertise for resolving technical issues in Tourism Development.

The new Board is made up of accomplished professionals in the diverse fields in Tourism as to bring cutting edge visionary leadership and support to the association and the tourism industry at large.

READ ALSO:  Joy as United Airline reconnects Washington-Accra, awaits Nigeria’s approval

The new members took turns to eulogies Chief Mike Amachree, the pioneer Board Chairman who laid a solid foundation for ATPN.

Minister of Tourism and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed

Members briefly reviewed the current challenges troubling the tourism industry, admitting that the challenges were surmountable.

There was the resolve to continue to ensure greater collaboration and synergy with wide stakeholders, including the public sector administrators.

A moment of silence was observed in honour of tourism’s fallen heroes, including the recent passing on of the FTAN President, Alh Saleh Rabo.

Members pledged to immortalize late Lanre Awoseyin and resolved that his flagship Journal, Hospitality and Tourism, must not be allowed to die.

READ ALSO:  Emirates undertakes complex job, repaints three A380s, 22 B777s

There was also the resolve that the collective clout of the Board members will be rallied in support of the ATPN Executive Committee.

Wole Shadare