UAE Lifts Travel Ban On Nigeria, 11 Other African Countries

Officials from the United Arab Emirates (UAE) have confirmed the resumption of all inbound flights for national and international carriers from 12 African countries, according to a report published by

The 12 countries from where transit passengers too will be allowed into the UAE, include Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

In addition, the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) and the National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority (NCEMA) added that starting 2.30 pm on Saturday, January 29, it has also updated the entry measures for travellers coming in from three other African countries: Uganda, Ghana and Rwanda.

READ ALSO:  AIB Awaits Bill To Expand Operations


Emirates A380 aircraft set for take-off


Passengers arriving from these three countries to the UAE must have a negative Covid-19 test obtained within 48 hours of departure from the approved labs in their respective countries.

Furthermore, they are required to undergo a Rapid PCR test at the airports of departure. On arrival in the UAE, they will be subjected to another PCR test.

UAE airlines such as Emirates had previously suspended flights to several African destinations as a result of the directive. As per a previous directive from the airline, effective December 28, it said that customers originating from Tanzania and Ethiopia would not be accepted for travel to or through Dubai. It had also altogether cancelled flights from the Republic of Kenya, Lusaka, Harare, Lagos, Abuja and Casablanca.

READ ALSO:  Depleted currency reserve: Lufthansa weighs exit from Nigeria

In the neighbouring emirate of Abu Dhabi, authorities had earlier this month revised its green list removing countries such as the UK, Turkey, Jordan, Qatar, Russia and Lebanon from it. Simultaneously, Algeria, Morocco, Seychelles and Tunisia were added to that list. All travellers arriving from the green list destinations are exempt from mandatory quarantine measures after landing in Abu Dhabi.

Wole Shadare